Missing My Sister

I want to dedicate this Poem to Tracey Searcy
I’m so sorry for your loss!!

Missing My Sister

One morning I found you in eternal
sleep;

I tried to wake you as I began to weep,
But all my pleas
you could not hear;
Oh if I could have only kept you near,
Away
from the voices of those who went before,
Who beckoned you to come to
that distant shore.
I find it so very hard to believe
That
you have gone and I must grieve;
I call out your name — you answer
not,
And I look for you in every familiar spot.

Everything seems
so strange and surreal,

I ask everyday is it a dream or real?
Where
are the soft eyes of affection?
Where is the laughter and talk
of childhood reflection?
Where is the loving care when I was sick or
sad?
Where is the generous soul for which I was glad?
Where is
the forgiving and understanding heart?
Where are the bonds that were
there from the start?
I miss all the little ways you showed you
cared,
For there were so many good moments we shared;
Looking back
on my life’s assorted scenes,
I realized you taught me what love
truly means;
You were my trusted confidante and best friend,
On
whose loving support I could always depend.

I look at your
smiling face in all my photos;

Memories flood my mind as I touch the
mementos
From the happy times you and I have had,
But now these
bring tears and make me sad;
For the time together went by in a wink,
Life
was not as long as we’d like to think.

Sometimes memories bring
comfort and make me smile,

But there are times when grief takes over
for a while;
Friends offer gentle words and prayers to console,
And
tell me what has happened to your loving soul;
Can it be true what
they say of time healing grief?
Is it enough when they say death has
given you relief?
Can we believe what others say of a better
place,
Where our beloved ones rest in God’s warm embrace?
I should
be happy you’re free of pain and sorrow,
And rejoice that you’ll
always have tomorrow.

How can I then be so heartbroken and selfishly
cry,

Return to me from that peaceful place where you lie!
Nothing tells of the wonderful
person you were,
And only serves to remind me of the painful loss I
endure;
But I know your kind soul wants no tears or pain,
Instead
you’d want warm memories and love to remain.

Although I cry and
stand grief-stricken,

I promise not to forget the
loving memories you gave;
But still I miss you so very much my sister
dear,
And your caring words I once again long to hear;
My heart’s
only solace is one day I will see you as before,
Beckoning me to
come join you on that white distant shore.

Leave a Reply

